Special

Hot Rap Songs Review: 1990

Hot Rap Songs Review

Welcome back to another Hot Rap Songs Review. Let’s get started.

LINK TO 1990 HOT RAP SONGS CHART

Expression-Salt-N-Pepa: I don’t know if this is a hot take or not, but I like 90s Salt-N-Pepa way more than 80s Salt-N-Pepa (I also think Push It kinda sucks). I feel like they truly found their lane in the 90s and have perfected more mature, intelligent, female-positive music. Expression is clearly 80s Salt-N-Pepa and it’s one of their better 80s songs, even if it isn’t as great as their later material. Everything in the song is stuck in the 80s; the beat, the flow, everything. It’s okay in my book and it’s getting a C.

The Humpty Dance-Digital Underground: Ah, yes. The Humpty Dance courtesy of Oakland’s Digital Underground. This is another one of those silly, fun songs that’ll keep any party going with a bouncing beat and Shock G’s alter-ego boasting about how cool he is getting money and women in spite of being ugly. And it’s a dance song that encourages people to have fun and gives instructions on how to do the dance (even if it comes later in the song). This song is a blast and it’s one of the best hits of 1990 for a reason. I give it an A.

Murder Rap-Above The Law: Another song that I know of because of GTA: San Andreas. And also Pineapple Express. Murder Rap comes from Above The Law. It’s a typical gangsta rap song with a beat that features a siren-sounding synth line that comes from a really old TV show from the 60s. This sound was also used in the Kill Bill movies.

I don’t have much else to say about the song besides it being perfect for going on a shooting rampage in Los Santos. I give it a C.

Fun House-Kid ‘N Play: You know what was a good movie? House Party. It was funny and had some great music, including songs from its main stars Kid ‘N Play. Fun House captures what I believe a house party in the 90s would be like. Both Kid and Play play off each other well as they’re having fun at a house party. It’s the perfect lighthearted fun for a lighthearted fun movie and I’m giving it a A.

911 Is A Joke-Public Enemy: With a lot of Public Enemy songs, the tone is a lot more serious. But with 911 Is A Joke, they opted for a lighter tone with Flavor Flav doing the rapping. This song is about the response of paramedics when they get calls from poor neighborhoods compared to when they get calls from more wealthy, suburban neighborhoods. Notably, they’re always late when it comes to emergencies in the hood. Flavor Flav is no Chuck D, but he doesn’t need to be for a song like this. I give it a B.

Amerikkka’s Most Wanted-Ice Cube: After leaving N.W.A. over financial issues, Ice Cube went to New York and worked with Public Enemy’s production team The Bomb Squad for his debut solo album Amerikkka’s Most Wanted. This was a record heavy on social commentary and light on fucks to give. The title track gives you a taste of what the rest of the album is like, even if it isn’t the best track from the album. The production done by The Bomb Squad gives Cube a soundtrack for him to shine a light on how the media portrays black men. It’s a sample of the unapologetic social-poltical content of the album. I give it a B.

The Power-Snap!: How many times have you heard this song? By now, it’s been in damn near everything. The Power is Snap’s first big hit internationally, hitting number one in the U.K., Switzerland, Spain, and the Netherlands and was number two on the US charts. Setting aside the ridiculous overplay that made me tired of the song, it’s not that bad. The hook is insanely catchy even though it’s only four words: I got the power. But once you hear them, they stay in your head all day. And the percussion-heavy beat has some power, too. This isn’t my favorite Snap song, I think Rhythm Is A Dancer is better, but it’s alright. I give it a C.

We’re All In The Same Gang-The West Coast Rap All-Stars: With the success of Self-Destruction, the big names in West Coast hip-hop got together and said, “let’s make our own version.” The song is produced by Dr. Dre and features King Tee, Body & Soul, Def Jef, Michel’le, Tone-Loc, Above The Law, Ice T, N.W.A., JJ Fad, Young MC, Digital Underground, Oaktown’s 3.5.7, and MC Hammer. Everything I said about Self Destruction applies to this song as well as it has a fine message, but it’s not something I want to listen to again. Also, it’s kinda ironic to see a couple of gangsta rappers who talk about killing people in their songs be on a song against violence. It’s funny to me. I give this a C.

Untouchable-Above The Law: Above The Law makes their second appearance with Untouchable. This is another song I would put in the okay category. An okay beat, okay rhymes, and content that isn’t half-bad. It’s not that memorable compared to Murder Rap, so I’m giving it a C.

Banned In The U.S.A.-2 Live Crew: After winning a court case that accused their music of being obscene, 2 Live Crew made Banned In The U.S.A. Get it? Born In The U.S.A., Banned In The U.S.A. Let me say this right now: this is 2 Live Crew’s best song and it’s their biggest hit to date. This song is them being more serious and stating that they’ll make the music they want to make and no one can stop them. Even if I don’t like their music or think the rapping is good, I have to respect them for this. Maybe it’s because this song doesn’t make me want to throw up, but I’m giving it a C.

Call Me D-Nice-D-Nice: Next up is D-Nice, who’s associated with Boogie Down Productions. Oh, and he’s the reason why Kid Rock exists. landing him a deal with Jive Records. Anyways, here’s Call Me D-Nice, which is a good enough song. I like the beat and D-Nice has some bars. It’s perfect for any old school hip-hop playlist. I give it a B.

Treat Them Like They Want To Be Treated-Father MC: You know the R&B group Jodeci? Well, here’s the song that put them on the map, Father MC’s Treat Them Like They Want To Be Treated. This is another hip-hop/R&B collaboration where Jodeci dominates the song while Father MC bring in some rhymes about the ladies. The song goes on a bit too long and the beat isn’t particularly that well-made. It’s getting a C from me.

The Boomin’ System-LL Cool J: You want to add something to the “bump in the whip” playlist? Here’s LL Cool J with The Boomin’ System, a song with a beat that’s guaranteed to have your system booming. LL is still bringing the bars for those who forgot that he can spit. This is one of those songs that you listen to while driving around. I give it an A.

Ice Ice Baby-Vanilla Ice: Ladies and gentlemen, the first hip-hop song to hit number one on the pop charts. This goes to show that not every hip-hop “classic” is good. I already talked about Ice Ice Baby 3 years ago. I named it the second worst hit of 1990, a decision I still stand by because of how much it sucks. Not even a decent Queen/David Bowie sample could save this song from Vanilla Ice’s weak ass flow, flubbing of rhymes, and total lack of credibility as a gangsta. I don’t have much else to say about this song. It’s getting an F from me.

Knockin’ Boots-Candyman: The radio station I listened to the most was 93.5 K-DAY, which played a lot of old-school hip-hop. One song that gets played on that station that I would always skip is Knockin’ Boots by Candyman. Yeah, I don’t like this song. It’s one of those really corny love songs tailor made for radio play, especially with a chorus that interpolates a Rose Royce song. It’s not like Candyman brings any impressive rhymes because he doesn’t. Also, this is a song whose title I keep confusing for the H-Town song Knockin’ Da Boots. Could you blame me? They both involve knocking boots. Anywho, while I don’t like this song, it’s not the worst I’ve ever heard. I give it a D.

Monie In The Middle-Monie Love: Straight out of London is Monie Love, who makes her mark with Monie In The Middle. The beat is very dancey and Monie has some skills as a rapper. In this song, Monie is stuck between two guys, one that she’s not interested in but won’t leave her alone and another guy that she’s interested in. This song was inspired by Big Daddy Kane trying to holla at her, but she wanted to holla at his dancer instead. Damn. Talk about a punch to the ego. I give this song a B.

I’ll Do 4 U-Father MC: Father MC didn’t just put Jodeci on. Another future R&B star that he worked with was Mary J Blige on the song I’ll Do 4 U. I think I like this song more than Treat Them Like They Want To Be Treated. It’s your usual love song with a beat that samples Cheryl Lynn’s Got To Be Real, a song that I really like. Not one of my favorite songs, but I’ll Do 4 U is cool. I give it a B.

BEST

The Humpty Dance

WORST

Ice Ice Baby

And those were the number one songs on the Hot Rap Songs chart of 1990. Next week, we look at the number one songs on the Hot Rap Songs chart of 1991.

Peace!!

2 thoughts on “Hot Rap Songs Review: 1990

  1. Ice Ice baby sucks because of overplay. The song is as played out today as yesterday. Back in 1990 you had mt v plus radio exposure plus everybody’s mixtapes. Other mentions turtle power, we got our own thing, principals office and pray. These songs and monie in the middle got much airplay on Yo MTV raps.

    Like

  2. yeah, I never liked Push It, either. I only like the beat and that’s it. I never cared for their 80’s stuff, their 90’s material was whole lot better. Amerikkka’s Most Wanted is a classic. 911 Is A Joke is alright. I liked some of their other songs better. The Humpty dance is a party jam, I never get sick of hearing that song. Plus it’s one of the few rap dance songs that goes hard. I agree Banned In The U.S.A. is 2 Live Crew’s best song. Even though I’m not a fan of the type of lyrics they put in their music (same applies to many of today’s mainstream rappers), they should have the right to express themselves however they want no matter how seeming degrading the subject might be (although there is such a thing as going too far). The Boomin’ System is another great LL Cool J track. I love House Party, that’s one of my favorite movies of all-time (love the second one as well). Funhouse is cool, but I like the Full Force song which they did the dance off scene to a lot better. The Power is catchy, but I’m kind of sick of the overplay, and Rhythm Is A Dancer is a better song. I’ll Do 4 U is alright, but I’ve heard better rap dance party songs. This one is just there. I’m gonna be honest. While I do think Ice Ice Baby is pretty bad, I honestly don’t think it’s one of the worst rap songs ever. Honestly, I’d take it over a lot of the mumble rap nonsense and several other awful rap song, at least it’s entertainingly bad. And compared to someone like Soulja Boy or Young Thug, Vanilla Ice at least actually tries to rap even though he can’t stay on key and sucks as a rapper. Plus regardless of the fact that it sampled Under Pressure without the artists’ permission, I still like the sample in the song. Yeah, Vanilla Ice was a fake poser and signified everything wrong with the commercialization of hip hop, not to mention being a white rapper, but at least if it wasn’t for him and MC Hammer, hip hop wouldn’t have been exposed to a mainstream audience. They for better or for worse, made it okay for a wide audience to enjoy hip hop music. Besides, this isn’t nearly as bad as his other hit song that ruins Play That Funky Music. That one can eat a big one. Personally, I didn’t think Ice Ice Baby was all that bad. Not great, but not the worst thing I ever heard. I always got confused the title of the song of Knockin’ Boots with Knockin’ Da Boots until I hear them. The difference is one is a really good slow jam that sets the mood for making out very well and brings the aesthetic of sex jams from the past and modernizes it very good, while the other is a lame sex rap song that isn’t all that sexy or listenable. Yeah, I’ll take Knockin’ Da Boots any day. And the guy that discovered Kid Rock had a rap career. Huh, the more you know. Great review.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.