Worst Songs List

Top 10 List: Worst Songs of 1973

It was the height of the Watergate scandal, which caused Nixon to resign as President of the United States (seriously, fuck Dick Nixon), the Vietnam War ended, there was an energy crisis. 1973 was a crazy year for world events. In terms of the world of music, it was okay. Most of the same trends from the previous years remained with little change. Honestly, I’m just waiting on disco to arrive and make things interesting. We’ll get that in the next list, but now, let’s look at the worst that 1973 has to offer.

image (4)

10.

Look, I don’t hate Paul McCartney. If anything, he’s the second best Beatle. If I had to rank the solo members of The Beatles, it would go John (if you overlook the whole domestic abuse thing), Paul, George, and Ringo. Paul and Wings have a song on my Best of ’73 list, but it ain’t My Love. This is another one of Paul’s more cheesy love songs. The instrumentation is a slow slog of 70s easy listening. The writing is really paper-thin and filled with sap. The “wo wo wos” don’t even bother me that much because the song overall is kinda boring. Skip it.

9.

The Carpenters make another appearance on a Worst Songs list with Sing, a song that originally came from Sesame Street. Seriously. Look, nothing against Sesame Street, but it should not be on the charts. Well, Karen and Richard took this song and made it utterly boring. The writing isn’t that strong, but that’s because it was originally written for a kids’ show and it’s all about singing, that’s it. The instrumentation for the first half sounds like a lullaby before the choir of kids kick in. Were people in the 70s that crazy over Sesame Street music?

8.

No, this is not the Lobo from DC Comics. If it were, you would probably get some heavy metal music. But no. This Lobo is a soft rock singer who isn’t as interesting as the Main Man. He’s on this list with Don’t Expect Me To Be Your Friend, a break-up song where a guy doesn’t want anything to do with his girl who still want to be friends. All of this is delivered with the emotional weight as a freezer. As for the instrumentation? *yawn* Could care less. That sums up my feelings for this song: could care less.

7.

Hurricane Smith was an engineer for the Beatles and has one of the coolest names ever. Seriously. Hurricane Smith sounds like the name of a wrestler. Sadly, his only hit isn’t as cool. Oh Babe, What Would You Say. Sounds promising. The instrumentation is this weird jazz/movie soundtrack sound and I don’t think it works. Hurricane Smith isn’t exactly a good singer. His voice sounds too hoarse for this type of music. Dude should’ve stuck to engineering because this doesn’t look good for him.

6.

Well, this was inevitable. We’ve now reached Carly Simon’s big hit You’re So Vain. Ever since its release, this song has been the subject of debates, mainly on the individual that it’s targeting. We know it’s about a guy, but the question is which guy? Some say it was Mick Jagger, others say it was Warren Beatty (who Carly confirmed the second verse was about), some say it was somebody else. Whoever it’s about, this song reminds me of why I turn away from a lot of Taylor Swift’s music and why I’ve avoided TMZ and the likes. It’s the same speculative tabloid drama that I give zero shits about. Next.

5.

Seriously, this is the second song I came across that reminds me of Sesame Street. What is this? Well, it’s called Playground In My Mind and it comes from Clint Holmes. This music sounds like the opening theme to a little kids’ show. A bad one. Close your eyes and try not to imagine a bunch of little kids running around and playing while they’re greeted by some guy in a weird colorful costume. Just like Sing by The Carpenters, it also features singing children because everything else wasn’t sugary enough. In case you couldn’t tell, this song is cheesy as fuck.

4.

Sometimes, just reading the name of a song will let you know that you’re going to be in some deep shit. Rockin’ Pnemonia & The Boogie Woogie Flu. This was a minor hit for Huey “Piano” Smith in 1957 and it was a typical rock ‘n roll song of the time. Johnny Rivers took that song and updated it for the 70s and ended up making a whitewashed, even more dated cover with messy instrumentation. On another note, if you have two diseases at the same time, you’re gonna die. Just saying.

3.

Well, this exists and I wish it didn’t. This is Clair by Gilbert O’Sullivan. The music sounds really hokey and not helping it is the whistling. I can’t take how it sounds seriously because it sounds like the background music to a commercial. Also, there’s the writing and content and… well, I’m going to quote the song’s Wikipedia page.

The song is the love song of a close family friend who babysits a young girl (actually the artist’s manager’s daughter), though for the first part of the song, the ambiguous text leads one to think that it is from one adult to another. The brief instrumental introduction is the sound of O’Sullivan whistling, before he comes in. The real Clair was the three-year-old daughter of O’Sullivan’s producer-manager, Gordon Mills, and his wife, the model Jo Waring. The little girl’s giggling is heard at the end of this song. The “Uncle Ray” mentioned in the song is O’Sullivan himself, a reference to his real name of Raymond O’Sullivan.

Think about that when you look at the lyrics.

But try as hard as I might do, I don’t know why
You get to me in a way I can’t describe
Words mean so little when you look up and smile
I don’t care what people say
To me you’re more than a child

Clair, if ever a moment so rare
Was captured for all to compare
That moment is you in all that you do
But why in spite of our age difference do I cry
Each time I leave you I feel I could die
Nothing means more to me than hearing you say
“I’m going to marry you
Will you marry me, Uncle Ray”

…………………………….. Anyone else feel the need to take a shower after hearing this song? Because I do. What the hell?

2.

Another list, another Donny Osmond song. What can I say about this kid that I haven’t already said? Here’s The Twelfth Of Never, which is another cover. More specifically, a cover to a Johnny Mathis song. By this point, puberty has started to kick in for Donny, so he doesn’t sound as shrill as he used to. Doesn’t make his singing good, either and the music he’s given is still generic teenybopper shit whose strings try to be elegant, but end up being a drag. Plus, lyrics like this….

I’ll love you ’til the bluebirds
Forget to sing
I’ll love you ’til the clover
Has lost its perfume
I’ll love you ’til the poets
Run out of rhyme

… make it clear that he’s gonna milk these teenage love songs for a good while.

And now, here are some dishonorable mentions.

DISHONORABLE MENTIONS

  • Kris Kristofferson-Why Me
  • Skylark-Wildflower
  • Maureen McGovern-The Morning After
  • Bloodstone-Natural High
  • Edward Bear-Last Song
  • Carpenters-Yesterday Once More
  • Helen Ready-Peaceful
  • Donna Fargo-Funny Face
  • Jud Struck-Daisy A Day
  • Albert Hammond-It Never Rains In Southern California

And finally, the worst song of 1973 IS………

drum roll

1.

Yep. This is real. Your eyes are not deceiving you. Jermaine Jackson of the Jackson 5 is sitting at the top of this list. While little brother Michael could (almost) do no wrong, Jermaine didn’t exactly have the best start. His first big hit was Daddy’s Home, which is an atrocious song. On a surface level, it seems like a typical R&B ballad and Jermaine doesn’t sound that bad. But then you look at the title of the song and some of the lyrics and you realize something doesn’t add up.

Daddy’s home, your Daddy’s home, to stay

Let me remind you that this is a love song aimed at a woman he loves. I don’t know about you, but I cringe every time a dude calls himself Daddy in context to his lover because it brings up some very disturbing, borderline incestuous implications. Like there’s some women out there who call their significant other “daddy.” Anyone else creeped out by that or is it just me? That one line makes this song even worse than it is and top every other song on this list. Congratulations to Daddy’s Home for being the worst song of 1973.

So those were the worst songs of 1973. In three weeks, BACK TO THE 70s continues with the Worst Songs of 1974.

Screen Shot 2018-02-23 at 6.09.54 PM.png

Peace!!

SONG OF THE WEEK

Pray For Me-The Weeknd & Kendrick Lamar

 

15 thoughts on “Top 10 List: Worst Songs of 1973

  1. While I wouldn’t consider You’re So Vain a personal favorite, I do think it’s a good song and kind of iconic to the 70s. No other real disagreements, though I have a bit of a soft spot for Yesterday Once More thanks to a certain scene from Vinyl.

    Like

  2. For most, 1973 is the year that the true 70s began to kick in. I do agree with some of your choices for bad songs but for me You’re So Vain is such an incredibly great song.

    It has masterful lyricism, great tone, and an aura of appeal. I understand that you stray away from those types of songs but this was one of the first times that a female in music could say fuck you to a lover instead of the other way around.

    Other than that my favorite songs have to be:
    -Killing Me Softly With His Song
    -Midnight Train to Georgia
    -Reelin in the Years
    -Cisco Kid
    -Love Train
    -Frankenstein

    Like

  3. Despite all the similarities between Nixon and Trump and being a Democrat, Nixon at least knew how to run a country despite his behavior along with his involvement in Watergate and ramping up the Vietnam War. Plus, thanks to Nixon 18-20 year olds are able to vote now which to me as an 18 year old makes it the only good thing he ever did. Listening to a lot of the worst songs makes me more annoyed when my parents and other older relatives talk about how music was better in the 70s than today cause even then you still had to deal with boring easy listening love songs and silly stupid pop songs that they complain about today. Even I had that view at first until I realized that boring, silly, and stupid pop music has always existed and that people just say music was better then because they remember the great stuff while forgetting the bad stuff. I can’t even say much about a lot of the worst songs cause they all blend together and show why we needed disco and funk to liven the charts up. Aside from Maybe I’m Amazed and some of his Beatles song, I’ve never been a fan of Paul’s love songs and ballads with My Love being a good case why. Prefer his more rocking material. Like I said on the 71 list, even as a lifelong fan of him and the Beatles including seeing him in concert twice, a lot of his solo work is very cheesy and doesn’t hold up well and Paul seems to know that cause he doesn’t play My Love in concert along with a lot of his other big solo hits. I actually like You’re So Vain but I totally get why you hate it. Every time I listen to it, I can tell where Taylor Swift got a lot of the inspiration for how she writes her breakup songs and they actually performed it once together with Carly telling Swift who the other verses were about. Despite that, I like the instrumentation including the bass intro, guitar solo along with Mick Jagger’s background vocals. Great best list with songs that I still hear on classic rock and 70s stations and enjoy listening to.
    Here’s my best of 1973 list:
    1)Money
    2)Smoke on the Water
    3)Space Oddity
    4)Reelin in the Years/Do It Again
    5)Ramblin Man
    6)Superstition
    7)Let’s Get it On
    8)Killing Me Softly With His Song
    9)You’re So Vain
    10)Crocoodile Rock
    Honorable Mentions
    Free Ride
    Stuck in the Middle With You
    We’re an American Band
    Daniel
    Feelin Stronger Every Day
    Live and Let Die
    Give Me Love (Give Me Peace on Earth)
    Drift Away
    Love Train
    You Are the Sunshine of My Life

    What’s your opinion on
    Killing Me Softly With His Song by Roberta Flack (do you prefer the Roberta Flack or Fugees version?)
    Pillow Talk by Sylvia
    We’re An American Band by Grand Funk Railroad
    Free Ride by The Edgar Winter Group
    Daniel by Elton John
    Ramblin Man by The Allman Brothers Band
    Kodachrome by Paul Simon
    Why We Can’t Live Together by Timmy Thomas (song that was sampled in Hotline Bling)
    Stuck in the Middle in You by Stealers Wheel
    Love Train by the O’Jays
    Give Me Love (Give Me Peace on Earth) by George Harrison
    Feelin Stronger Every Day by Chicago
    Cover of the Rolling Stone by Dr. Hook
    Stir it Up by Johnny Nash (surprised this wasn’t on the list since it takes my favorite Bob Marley song and waters it down taking away a lot of what I liked about the original)

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Good (I like both versions, though I prefer the Fugees version because that’s what I’ve heard the most), okay, good, good, good, okay, okay, good, okay, good, meh, okay, meh, and meh.

      Like

  4. nearly all of these songs have been forgotten and for good reason. They all suck! the 70’s were shock full of easy listening crap and dumb love songs. Anyone that says that the 70’s were all about disco and classic rock clearly wasn’t paying attention that decade. This is one of those instances where practically all of the bad songs of that decade have been forgotten because prior to going through the year end, I’ve never heard these songs before and for good reason. In retrospect, Wings was pretty bad and though Paul McCartney was my favorite member of The Beatles, the stuff he did with Wings and solo mostly sucked and are best left forgotten. My Love was a snoozefest. Considering the type of music The Carpenters sounded like they were aimed squarely at kids (or boring moms) I’m not surprised they actually made a children’s song. And yes, it sucked. The problem isn’t that Karen Carpenter was a bad singer, the problem was that their music stunk and was boring to the max. Didn’t like a single song from these guys. Lobo and Hurricane Smith are names you’d pick out of a comic book or an action cartoon show. Too bad their music doesn’t anywhere near live up to their hardcore stage names. Just more boring shlock. Oh yes, Carly Simon. You’re right, she was the Taylor Swift of the 70’s. As a matter of fact, a lot of Carly Simon’s music wouldn’t sound out of place with a Taylor Swift song. And just like Taylor, there is really no reason to listen to this woman. You’re So Vain is lame and reeks of dumb songwriting that Taylor herself could’ve written. Wouldn’t be surprised if Carly was one of her inspirations. Also, Carly’s not that great of a singer. Taylor isn’t either, but I’d rather take her over this lady. That Gilbert O’Sullivan song sounds like it was written by a pedophile.Seriously, that song sends very creepy and dark vibes. I think I’m starting to get why he’s only known for Alone Again Naturally. Playground On My Mind is a fitting song name because it does sound like it was written and recorded in a playground. And like I said last time, Donny Osmond was the Justin Bieber of the 70’s (even looks like JB did when he first broke out). As a child singer, he wasn’t the worst (honestly I find him marginally better than Bieber during his teen years) but man, this is just more lame mushy teen idol nonsense. Agreed on all of the dishonorable mentions. So this Jermaine Jackson song exists. That’s all I got to say. It’s almost funny to look at many years later to know that next to Michael, Jermaine was the face of the Jackson 5. This first solo hit from him was a bad first impression. I also find it creepy when the word daddy is used in any sexual reference. I never found the appeal to that, it just gives incestuous vibes. And all of those songs from the best list are bonafide classics. They’ve all aged well and for good reason. I agree that the 70’s didn’t really become interesting until the arrival of disco. This year was just okay, which basically describes my feeling towards the early 70’s in general, just an okay time period with some classics and a lot of crappy lovey dovey and easy listening shlock that is best left forgotten. I think we needed disco at this point to liven up the charts. Screw the rock purists.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Took the words right out of my mouth there. Daddy’s Home is very similar to Father Figure, both being very disturbing love songs using “Daddy” or “Father” as their descriptive lovers.

      Honestly, most of the descriptions for why these songs are on this list felt a bit brief compared to the previous lists are that they’re just basic, one point pretty much summing up the entire song. To be fair, the 70s music hadn’t evolved yet and was about to get a lot livelier with disco.

      BTW, I’m so looking forward to (You’re) Having My Baby being ripped apart on the next list.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Disagreements from me are the two Carpenters songs and The Morning After, both of which I just find to sound really good and relaxing, though I do see why you wouldn’t like them. Also, we have the same top 2, only swapped.

    And now for the anomalies:

    Worst:

    Cher – Half-Breed
    Bette Midler – Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy
    Loggins & Messina – Your Mama Don’t Dance

    Best:

    Jim Croce – Bad, Bad Leroy Brown
    The O’Jays – Love Train
    Vicki Lawrence – The Night The Lights Went Out In Georgia (I’d also like to know if you’ve heard the Reba McEntire cover of this song and if you have any thoughts on that as I’d argue that’s even better)

    Like

Comments are closed.